Blog / Creative / The Archmage's Ruminations / Visual

The Columbus Zoo and Aquarium: A Three-Year Photojournal


by Helen Cothrel, hc261409@ohio.edu

Every summer for the past three years, my mother and I have taken a day trip to the Columbus Zoo and Aquarium in Columbus, Ohio. She fills her backpack with sandwiches and trail mix, and I fill every unused cubic inch of my camera bag with spare batteries. To me, the zoo is the perfect venue to combine my love of learning with my love of photography; during these trips, I have had some of my proudest moments as a hobbyist-photographer. Now, I present those moments to you.

Year One: August 29, 2011

Cothrel

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Year Two: August 21, 2012

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Year Three: August 22, 2013

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

????????????????????

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Boundless thanks go to the good folks at the Columbus Zoo, and to my mother for patiently waiting while I take hundreds of photos on hot August days.

Thoughts? Comments? Questions? Leave below!

2 thoughts on “The Columbus Zoo and Aquarium: A Three-Year Photojournal

    • Thanks very much Jules! I have a GE Power Pro X500 16.0MP. It’s honestly a pretty cheap camera–I got mine for around $150 a few years ago, and you can find it for close to $100 now–but I’ve been really happy with it.

Thoughts?

